My Date With An Indian Goddess

As a photographer, I capture beauty around the world. One face in particular ate my heart like a tea cake in one date, I felt for her in an odd way. Well, this is the way it went:

So, this Indian goddess sits across from me. Dark long locks brush her shoulders as she speaks with intelligence illuminating gold sparks in her almond eyes. I study her mouth’s every move. I gaze at her thin cushion top-lip as she grasps her straw with her thick bottom lip wrapping round, and she sucks up a Tequila Sunrise.

As she tells her life’s tale to me, her brown cheeks hue pink, and I laugh with her to make her white teeth gleam. In awe of this creature before me, my eyes travel her neck to watch the rise and fall of her breasts, squeezed together to perk up her silk blouse. She gesticulates with a poised right hand while her left sits upon the table across from mine.

I envision laying my white hand upon her long tan fingers, reading her palm so I can tell her she has nothing to be insecure about. But lonely is as lonely does, and she goes on and on about how she gets her dates online to find her perfect man.

We both went home alone, but I learned beauty doesn’t make a woman feel more in control. A woman is a woman despite her face, for those who possess beauty know it fades.

Bio:

I write under the pen name Hopelessly Inappropriate. I’ve been writing since I graduated from Ball State University in 1999 with my BA in Secondary English Education. While teaching the literary canon throughout Arizona, I continued creating stories and poetry, taking ESL and creative writing courses for my MA through Northern Arizona University. A year into my master’s program, after ten years of teaching high school, I met my husband, got married, and had a beautiful baby. I’m a writer, a woman, a wife, and a mother who has been a paraplegic for over half my years alive, giving me an interesting perspective on life. This is why I write.

© Kelley Bush

8 thoughts on “My Date With An Indian Goddess

Leave a Reply

